The Domain

The Terroir

Chateau Coutet vineyard is established on the first hill of Saint-Émilion, half a kilometre away from the village. Coutet’s closest neighbours are all prestigious châteaux.

Its vines have always been grown with the higher respect of the terroir and nature, as a result of which it obtained the organic certification in 2012. A walk among Coutet’s vines helps understand why the Saint-Émilion landscape is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site.

The density of plantation is about 6,000 vines/ha. The vine population is made up of 60% merlot, 30% bouchet (cabernet franc), 5% cabernet sauvignon and, as a touch of originality, 5% pressac (local malbec).

The vines are 38 years old on average.

The culture

All the classic work is done manually and no chemical treatment (weed killer, pesticide) has ever been used at Coutet. The rich biotope and diverse flora surrounding the vine make it possible to practice healthy and sustainable agriculture, allowing natural predators known as “pests” to play a role in limiting erosion and controlling yields. Natural composts are added punctually.

The vines are pruned in winter according to the double Guyot system, leaving two long canes, and additional work is done just after the flowering in order to regulate and choose the grape and foliage load of each vine. The lifting and the leaf thinning contribute to keep the vines and the harvest in good health. The grapes are obviously harvested by hand, in small crates, and the different varietals are picked at different dates, depending on their ripeness.

The Biotope

Coutet’s location, at the top of the Saint-Martin de Mazerat plateau, offers a unique view to as far as several kilometres around:

• To the south, over the Entre-Deux-Mers hillsides on the left bank of the Dordogne river;

• To the west, on the Fronsac hillock and even to Bordeaux on clear days.

At Coutet, nature has been particularly preserved: no weed killer or pesticide has ever been used. It is one of the rare places of the Saint-Émilion region where some spinneys of pedunculate oaks, holm oaks and sessile oaks subsist. Fig trees are also well represented and some small, dry meadows are home to several orchid varieties.

Springtime is announced by the blooming of beautiful tulips and narcissus that light up the rows of vines still bare, whereas autumn gives walkers the opportunity to savour some figs, walnuts, apples, peaches, and pears along the paths.

Both the varied flora and the diversified fauna enable the vines to thrive without any synthetic additive. Few estates offer discoveries of this kind.

Saint-Émilion and its vineyard are listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. To understand why, you are welcome to come for a walk through Coutet at any time of the year.

The Vineyard

The Saint-Martin plateau (4.5 ha)

These plots are located on the southwestern summit of the famous Saint-Martin de Mazerat plateau, facing southeast/southwest. The centrepiece of thisterroir is Peycocut, which stretches half over Beauséjour and half over Coutet.

The subsoil, made of asteriated limestone, is covered with shallow, medium to fine textured, calcareous brown soil. The limestone rock shows in several places. This is the typical geological structure of the Saint-Émilion plateau.

Peycocut was one of the first plots in Saint-Émilion to be identified as exceptional. Indeed, on the 21stSeptember 1541, the Jurade decided on the official harvest date after having seen “Puycogut” (seeMémoires du moine Brangier).

The plots on the Saint-Martin plateau are Peycocut, le Journal (the newspaper), Les Pommiers (the apple trees), Martin, Les Vendangeurs (the grape-pickers), Le Plateau (the plateau) and Les Blaireaux (the badgers). They are surrounded by prestigiousPremiers Grands Crus Classés neighbours, Beauséjour-Bécot, Beauséjour-Duffau and Angélus, and by a Grand Cru Classé neighbour, Bellevue. Two other Premiers Grands Crus Classés, Canon and Clos Fourtet, are situated within 500 m of Coutet. 

The Côte de Franc (3.5 ha)

The Saint-Émilion Côte de Franc is the slope of the Saint-Martin plateau that descends towards Libourne. It describes a 90-degree arc of a circle, starting with a northwest aspect on the Franc Pourret’s side, and facing directly south in Coutet.

The rock is visible in several places up the hillside, and the ground, deeper than on the plateau, is made up of heavy, clay-limestone soil and of foot-of-the-slope clay-limestone soil. Many great Saint-Émilion wines can be found on this type of soil.

The Côte de Franc is also one of the thirteen sites of the whole jurisdiction that the jurats had to visit before fixing the harvest date.

The plots on the hillside are La Côte (the hillside, south and north), L’Escalier (the stairs), Le Squelette (the skeleton), Cucurot and half of Canon. They adjoin three Grands Crus Classés.

The foot of the slope (5 ha)

In that place, the soil is mainly compounded of clayey sand recarbonated on the surface, lying partly on iron oxides not far below the surface.

The plots at the foot of the slope are the other half of Canon, La Porte Rouge (the red door), La Toumièle, Les Tilleuls (the lime trees), Chez Jeannot (Jeannot’s), Les Sables (the sands) and Les Peupliers (the poplars, north and south). These plots are encircled by three Grands Crus Classés: Angélus, Le Couvent des Jacobins and Grand Mayne.

coutet-carte

Le Domaine

Le Terroir du Château Coutet

Le vignoble du Château Coutet s’établit sur le premier « coup de rein » du relief saint-émilionnais, à 500 m du village. Les voisins immédiats de Coutet sont tous des CHÂTEAUX PRESTIGIEUX.

Depuis toujours, ses vignes sont cultivées avec le plus grand respect du terroir et de la nature, ce qui à valu au domaine d’obtenir la CERTIFICATION BIOLOGIQUE EN 2012. Une ballade dans les vignes de Coutet permet de comprendre pourquoi le paysage saint-émilionnais est classé comme PATRIMOINE MONDIAL par l’UNESCO.

La densité de plantation est d’environ 6000 pieds/ha. L’encépagement est de 60 % de merlot, 30 % de  bouchet (cabernet franc), 3 % de cabernet sauvignon avec une touche d’originalité de 7 % de pressac (malbec local).

 La moyenne d’âge du vignoble est de 38 ans. 

La culture à Coutet

Toutes les façons classiques sont faites à la main et AUCUN TRAITEMENT CHIMIQUE (désherbant, pesticide) n’a jamais été utilisé à Coutet. La qualité de son biotope et la variété de la flore entourant la vigne autorisent la pratique sans risque d’une VITICULTURE SAINE et d’avenir en permettant aux prédateurs naturels dits « nuisibles » de jouer leur rôle dans la limitation de l’érosion et dans la maîtrise des rendements. Des COMPOSTS NATURELS sont apportés ponctuellement.

La taille est faite en guyot simple en hiver, laissant une aste longue, mais une façon supplémentaire est effectuée juste après leur fleur pour réguler et choisir la charge en raisin et en feuillage de chaque cep. Le levage et l’effeuillage contribuent au bon état sanitaire de la vigne et de la vendange. Les vendanges sont évidemment FAITES À LA MAIN, en cagette. Les différents cépages sont récoltés à des dates différentes, selon leur maturité.

Château Coutet, Le Biotope

La situation de Coutet, au sommet du plateau de Saint-Martin de Mazerat, offre une VUE UNIQUE à plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres à la ronde :

  • au sud, sur les coteaux de l’Entre-Deux-Mers, sur la rive gauche de la Dordogne ;
  • à l’ouest, sur le tertre de Fronsac et même jusqu’à Bordeaux par temps clair.

La nature, à Coutet, a été particulièrement préservée. AUCUN DÉSHERBANT NI PESTICIDE. C’est l’un des rares endroits du Saint-Émilionnais où subsistent quelques boqueteaux de chênes pédonculés, verts et rouvres. Les figuiers y sont bien représentés. Quelques microprairies sèches accueillent plusieurs variétés d’orchidées.

Le printemps est annoncé par l’éclosion de magnifiques tulipes et narcisses éclairant les rangs de vignes encore dénudés, tandis que l’automne permet au promeneur de déguster quelques figues, noix, pommes, pêches ou poires le long des sentiers.

La grande variété de la flore allant de pair avec une microfaune très diversifiée, ces deux atouts permettent à la vigne de prospérer sans adjuvants synthétiques.

RARES SONT LES PROPRIÉTÉS PERMETTANT CE GENRE DE DÉCOUVERTE.

Saint-Émilion et son vignoble sont classés au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco. Nous vous invitons à venir vous promener à Coutet, tout au long de l’année, pour en comprendre les raisons.

Le Vignoble du Château Coutet

Le plateau de Saint-Martin (4,5 ha)

Ces parcelles se trouvent au sommet sud-ouest du très célèbre plateau de Saint-Martin de Mazerat. Elles sont exposées sud-est/sud-ouest. La PIÈCE MAÎTRESSE de ce terroir est PEYCOCUT, à cheval pour moitié sur Beauséjour et pour moitié sur Coutet.

Le sous-sol, constitué de calcaire à astéries, est couvert d’un sol brun calcaire à texture moyenne ou fine, peu profond. Le ROCHER CALCAIRE est par endroits affleurant. C’est la structure géologique typique du plateau de Saint-Émilion.

PEYCOCUT est une des parcelles de Saint‑Émilion les plus anciennement IDENTIFIÉES COMME EXCEPTIONNELLES. En effet, le 21 septembre 1541, la Jurade décidait de la date du ban des vendanges après avoir vu « PEYCOCUT »  (Cf. Mémoires du moine Brangier).

Les parcelles du plateau de Saint-Martin sont Peycocut, Le Journal, Les Pommiers, Martin, Les Vendangeurs, Le Plateau et Les Blaireaux. Elles sont entourées de très prestigieux voisins Premiers Grands Crus Classés, Beauséjour-Bécot, Beauséjour-Duffau et Angélus, et d’un voisin Grand Cru Classé, Bellevue. Deux autres Premiers Grands Crus Classés, Canon et Clos Fourtet, se trouvent à moins de 500 m.

La Côte de Franc (3,5 ha)

La « Côte de Franc » saint-émilionnaise est la descente du plateau de Saint-Martin vers Libourne. Elle décrit un arc de cercle sur environ 90°, commençant avec une orientation nord-ouest du coté de Franc-Pourret pour finir plein sud à Coutet.

Au tombant du coteau, le rocher est visible à plusieurs endroits et la terre, plus profonde que sur le plateau, est composée d’argilo-calcaire lourd et d’argilo-calcaire de bas de versant. Beaucoup de grands Saint-Émilion se rencontrent sur ce type de terrain.

La Côte de Franc fait aussi partie des treize sites, sur toute la juridiction, que les jurats de 1541 devaient visiter avant d’arrêter la date des vendanges.

Les parcelles de la côte sont La Côte (sud et nord), L’Escalier, Le Squelette, Cucurot et la moitié du Canon. Elles jouxtent trois Grands Crus Classés.

Le pied de côte (5 ha)

À cet endroit, le sol est essentiellement composé de sable argileux recarbonaté en surface, en partie posé sur de la crasse de fer à faible profondeur.

Sur ce pied de côte se trouvent l’autre moitié du Canon, La Porte Rouge, La Toumièle, Les Tilleuls, Chez Jeannot, Les Sables et Les Peupliers (nord et sud). Trois Grands Crus Classés, Angélus, Le Couvent des Jacobins et Grand Mayne, ceinturent ces parcelles.

coutet-carte